The Gym

Let me start by saying, if I had more time and money I would love to go to the gym. However, it is just the four of us and we are living on loans so a gym with childcare is not in our budget. Also, after being at school for 8-9 hours everyday I can’t exactly come home and tell my exhausted husband that I am taking off again to hit the gym. “Sorry honey I know you are tired but I need to workout”. Yeah, that is probably not going to happen. So I look for ways to put fitness into our lives that doesn’t involve the gym, just staying active and spending that time I have with my kids.

So what do I do or what are things that I am trying to do to stay fit?

  •  20 minutes of Netflix Pilates in the morning before the kids wake up. It may not be the best workout, but it is free and what I can fit in.
  • I walk to and from school which is about a mile each way.
  • I don’t watch TV until after the kids go to bed. Across the board activity levels are associated with a greater increase in weight loss. So be active and turn off the TV.
  • We never eat dinner in front of the TV and I try not to snack in front of the TV.  Studies show that a greater incidence of TV viewing and meals correlate to a higher BMI (Body Mass Index) (Fuglestad et al.).
  • Eat at least one serving of vegetables at every meal. I will have more info about my attempt at a plant based diet in other posts.
  • I also try not to eat after 8, but my husband likes to make this nearly impossible. He is the constant snacker particularly after the kids go to bed. Research has shown that late dinner and late night snakes negatively affect sleep habits (Crispim et al.).

So these are just some of the things I do to work a healthy lifestyle into my hectic schedule. If you have more ideas please share.

References

Fuglestad PT, Jeffery RW, and Sherwood NE. (26 June 2012). Lifestyle patterns associated with diet, physical activity, body mass index and amount of recent weight loss in a sample of successful weight losers. Int J Behav Nutr Phys Act. 2012 Jun 26;9(1):79

Crispim CA, Zimberg IZ, dos Reis BG, Diniz RM, Tufik S, and de Mello MT. (15 Dec 2011). Relationship between food intake and sleep pattern in healthy individuals.J Clin Sleep Med. 2011 Dec 15;7(6):659-64.

Leave a Reply

