The Olympic Games

No Olympic games are ever complete without putting a set of your own games on at home. I remember creating my own games when I was a little kid and I want my kids to have the same kind of fun. This time though, instead of the adults sitting on the sidelines theygot to participate too (they might have just thought they were coming over for a barbecue ;)). First, we made the gold medals from some gold circles and fun colored pipe cleaners.

The gold medals.

Then we made the list of games: The Spoon Race, The Relay Race, The Standing Long Jump, The 3 Legged Race, The Bean Bag Toss (Shot Put Style).

The standing long jump.

What a sweetie. Waiting for Pierce to catch up to her.

While the Heinze family put their all into it, I have to say the Zieres took it home. I credit their wins to little Haley, she is quite the spitfire when it comes to competition. The Heinzes did totally take the standing long jump, so at least we left with something.

Dang, I was doomed from the start.

To top it off the kids all got some gold medals for their effort in the games. This was the perfect way to spend a beautiful Saturday afternoon.

The congratulations hug for a job well done.

5 thoughts on “The Olympic Games

  1. There are two basic methods for throwing the shot put. The “spin” or “rotational” technique is the more complex method. The “glide” technique is more commonly-used and, with its linear movement through the throwing circle, is easier for beginners to learn. *

    Newest brief article on our very own web page
    <http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/

  2. Pingback: How To Avoid a Sedentary Life « whohastimeforthegym

  3. Pingback: 40+ Kids Summer Activities - The Taylor House

  4. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return the favor”.
    I’m attempting to find things to enhance my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

