Monopoly Jr. Exercise Game – Nailed It

Sometimes, it occasionally happens. I get a little overzealous when it comes to trying of thinking new ways to exercise with the family. My oldest son loves to have family game night and we can only play Twister Dance or Charades so much before we are tired of it. At the same time  I am trying to be active 20 minutes every night with them so I am trying to think of ways to keep that entertaining if we can’t make it to the park.

Blog 015

This week, I decided to try and make a regular favorite game into an exercise game. It was half successful. By half successful I mean the kids loved it, the hubby hated it and we turned a normally 15 minute game into a 45 minute game and still didn’t finish. You win some, you lose some.

gamenight

Our game was Disney Monopoly, a pretty fun game that my 5 year old understands and my 3 year old is willing to pretend to participate. It is usually a winner for game night.

Don't judge me, he's an adult now.

Don’t judge me, he’s an adult now.

Here is how the rules went:

Pass go: 20 sec plank

See Dr. Drakken: 5 pushups

Whenever you have to pay rent: 10 high knees

Cory’s Bicycle, Hanna’s limosine, or Kim Possible’s car (Roll again spaces): 5 mountain climbers

When you land on detention: 10  Burpees

Free Lunch: 10 jumping jacks

Whenever we landed on that particular space we would do that exercise.

gamenight3

Needless to say, this was a very busy game. The good news was, it was so hectic we couldn’t stop laughing and it ended up being pretty fun and we got a little exercise in.

Not everybody has this game, but you could easily do it to any board game. Just add some exercises to certain board spaces and get moving. The exercises could even be more kid friendly like jumping jacks, leap frogs, crab walks etc.

If you try it, let me know. I love to read your comments whether you were successful at making it through the game or not.

8 thoughts on “Monopoly Jr. Exercise Game – Nailed It

  1. That sounds like fun! I made a game for my gymnasts. I covered 2 small gift boxes with white paper. One one “dice” I wrote numbers (10, 15, 20, 5 etc) On the other one I wrote different exercises. They got to take turns rolling the dice and the whole group did the number of whatever exercise came up! Simple and fun!

Leave a Reply

